Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes

“In the three kingdoms of Mytica, magic has long been forgotten. And while hard-won peace has reigned for centuries, a deadly unrest now simmers below the surface.

As the rulers of each kingdom grapple for power, the lives of their subjects are brutally transformed… and four key players, royals and rebels alike, find their fates forever intertwined. Cleo, Jonas, Lucia, and Magnus are caught in a dizzying world of treacherous betrayals, shocking murders, secret alliances, and even unforeseen love.

The only outcome that’s certain is that kingdoms will fall. Who will emerge triumphant when all they know has collapsed?

It’s the eve of war…. Choose your side.”

-Synonpsis taken from Goodreads

Hey! This is Meaghan. Last Thursday, I started (and finished) the first book in the Falling Kingdoms series. I was quite excited for this book, and while it didn’t fully live up to my expectations, I really enjoyed it, and do recommend it for fans of high fantasy! My full review can be found below! (This review does have spoilers under the mark.)

“Even paradise could become a prison if one had enough time to take notice of the walls.”

Stars (Out of 10): 7.5/10
Overall Thoughts: I really enjoyed this book, and how it’s written and planned out is different from most fantasy novels. It actually reminded me of how Game of Thrones is formatted, or atleast how I’ve heard it’s formatted, as I haven’t read the series yet. There were some parts of the author’s style that needed getting used to, such as how frequently she killed off characters and how she went about making those deaths seem important, but I believe that now that I understand Rhodes’ style more the rest of the series will seem a bit better. I do believe that with it’s flaws, it was still a really good book, and I truly enjoyed it!

SPOILERS BEGIN HERE


The Good: I loved the diversity of the characters, as how they reacted to things was actually quite different from each other. I also enjoyed how the main characters aren’t on the same side, so we almost have to choose who we believe is good, and who we want to ‘win’.

The Bad: I thought the character deaths seemed a bit too constant, and made the lives of those characters way less important. I also thought that the love of Theon and Cleo was pretty instantaneous, which was a trope I was never truly a fan of.

The Characters: While I loved the characters, I wasn’t really a fan of how they died. It was frequent and sometimes unnecessary, with some not really seeming to make a big impact. I do realize that Basilius and Tomas were very important deaths, as they actually moved the plot forward, but the deaths of Theon, King Corvin, and Emilia were a few of the ones that weren’t fully made into a plot device yet. However, I hope to see those deaths being put to use in the second book!

The Plot: I enjoyed the plot of this book, but I do feel it was a bit “plain.” Don’t get me wrong, it was good, but it was also simple. Three countries want power, two gang up on the other, then stronger country betrays weaker country. Even the personal plotlines never truly surprised me, as when there was a twist, it was heavily, very heavily, hinted at, such as Lucia being the orphan child in the prologue and Gauis betraying Basilius. However, the author concealed her plot of the Kindred and magic well, as I did not guess Eirene was the Watcher, and that Cleo would be Eva’s descendant.

The World Building: I really enjoyed how they built the world, from it’s history to it’s current, and gave real reasons for why the war was happening, and why everyone agreed to it. I especially like how the religion and magic was built, and that was definitely one of my favorite aspects of the book.

The Stereotypical Tropes: Insta-Love, A Chosen One/Destined One

The Favorite Character: Theon Ranus (may his poor soul rest in peace)

Buy it, Borrow it, Or Bin it: Buy it!

 

Leave a Reply

