The Boy with Words by C.E. Wilson

“White Frost has only ever known the darkness. Everything outside of her closed society is The Unknown – a strange and dangerous place accessible to only a chosen few. White’s only glimpse of the world beyond comes from her beloved cousin in the form of mysterious collections of words that hint at astonishing wonders. When an accident upends her simple existence, she’s given an unlikely chance to see the truth for herself. What she finds is greater and more terrible than she could have imagined, and before long she is forced to make the most important choice of her life: does she accept her safe, limited world that she’s known or take a desperate gamble in a world not meant for her with the Boy with Words?”

-Synopsis from Goodreads

Hi guys this is Allison! I was given the book The Boy With Words for an honest read to review by the author. I finally got around to it and found I enjoyed it a lot.

“You can’t control what the truth is.” 
Stars (Out of 10): 7.5
Overall Thoughts: While I was not a fan of the romantic aspect of the book, the rest of it was amazing. C.E. Wilson built an awesome world filled of all sorts of quirks that made it truly amazing to read. I can’t wait to read more books from this author!

 Spoilers start here! 

The Good: The world was well-built. The culture of it was clearly defined and made the world so quirky. I loved the complexity of the characters and the plot.
The Bad: I was not a fan of the romance. Mostly, because it reminded me of the Bee Movie a bit (or more like my friend pointed it out to me after I mentioned it to her and I can’t get it out of my head since).
The Characters: There was a variety of characters and they all had lovable qualities. I especially loved Rika and Pepper. Salt confused me and Shade was pretty cool. The main characters were very complex and intriguing as well.
The Plot: The plot was very interesting for it was not a character trying to solve her world’s problems, but trying to solve her own. I actually liked it a lot for that.
The World Building: The world building was phenomenal! I loved learning about the history of the Forgotten Ones. Plus, the names were such a cool, unique touch.
The Stereotypical Tropes: Perhaps an aspect of forbidden love, but not much else
The Favorite Character: Rika
Buy it, Borrow it, Or Bin it: Buy It

Leave a Reply

