The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

“Greece in the age of heroes. Patroclus, an awkward young prince, has been exiled to the court of King Peleus and his perfect son Achilles. Despite their difference, Achilles befriends the shamed prince, and as they grow into young men skilled in the arts of war and medicine, their bond blossoms into something deeper – despite the displeasure of Achilles’ mother Thetis, a cruel sea goddess.

But when word comes that Helen of Sparta has been kidnapped, Achilles must go to war in distant Troy and fulfill his destiny. Torn between love and fear for his friend, Patroclus goes with him, little knowing that the years that follow will test everything they hold dear.”

-Synopsis from Goodreads

Hi guys! Allison here! So I just finished Song of Achilles. It was great and I’m crying. I heartily recommend it to everyone. I also recommend reading it on a free day because I sat down and read it for seven hours straight and did not put it down once.

“And perhaps it is the greater grief, after all, to be left on earth when another is gone.” 
Stars (Out of 10): 10
Overall Thoughts: I had to write this blinking through my tears. I have always been a fan of Greek mythology, so I was pretty sure I was going to love this book. I was right. I loved it a lot. I sat down and read it and did not put it down for a full seven hours.

Spoilers begin below


The Good: I am so glad it is in Patroclus’ point of view. From his point of view, we see things in a lot more rounded way. The story would not have been the same had it been in Achilles’ point of view or even 3rd point of view. Furthermore, the romance is amazing, while still allowing the characters to grow.
The Bad: There is nothing that can really be changed to make it better. It is a different take on a well-known story.
The Characters: All the characters were likable. I loved Patroclus from start to finish, his thoughts on things very poetic. Achilles was wonderfully complex.
The Plot: The plot was well planned, with foreshadowing being a key factor. Every time I saw a mention of foreshadowing, I was like “You don’t even know!!!!”
The World Building: The world building was complex as Madeline Miller tried to squeeze in as much details in about the Greek side of the war but still allowed the audience room to take it all in.
The Stereotypical Tropes: Retelling
The Favorite Character: Patroclus
Buy it, Borrow it, Or Bin it: Buy It

Leave a Reply

