Frozen Tides by Morgan Rhodes

Rebels, royals, and monsters wage war over the Mytican throne in the shocking fourth book of the Falling Kingdoms series, from New York Times bestselling author Morgan Rhodes.

CLEO: Reeling after a bloody showdown in Limeros ending with Amara’s abduction of the water crystal, and a vacancy in the Mytican throne, Princess Cleo must cast aside her feelings and look toward her kingdom with the eyes of a Queen.

MAGNUS: With the kingdom in chaos, Princess Lucia still missing and quite possibly in danger, and a shocking realization about Cleo, the steely prince is once again torn between love and duty, leaving him wondering whether he’s strong enough to rule his people.

LUCIA: The young sorcercess has had her vengeance after the cruel death of her first and only love. Heartbroken and unable to trust anyone, she allies with the awoken Fire god, who also seeks revenge.

JONAS: After escaping death by the skin of his teeth, the defeated rebel—along with a mysterious stranger–leader reunites with Princess Cleo, only to find himself a mere pawn in a dangerous hunt for the elusive Kindred.

KING GAIUS: Abandoned by Melenia and betrayed by his own children, Gaius flees Mytica and sails to Kraeshia, where he attempts to ally with the famously brutal emperor across the Silver Sea.

-Synopsis taken from Goodreads

Hey guys! It’s Meaghan here again, finally back with another review! I was on vacation for a bit, and read quite a few books, just didn’t have the internet to post my reviews! I finished the final published book of the Falling Kingdoms series, and loved it so much that I can’t wait until the next one! My full review is below!

“Because if you don’t choose to fight against the wrong in the world, then you are the wrong in the world.”

Stars (Out of 10): 9.5/10

Overall Thoughts: I didn’t enjoy this as much as Gathering Darkness, but I still absolutely loved it!! I enjoyed all the POVs except Lucia, especially the new ones introduced of Amara and Felix! The plot was so amazing, and we got to see more of the world that Morgan Rhodes has been built. Overall a great addition to the series, with an action-packed ending! I’m anticipating the next one in December!

SPOILERS BEGIN HERE


The Good: I loved the addition of Felix and Amara’s POVs, and loved their ideas on everything, and how they truly aren’t “bad.” I also continue to love Cleo, and how strong and capable she continues to be, especially in her escape of Amara! The plot and world building were also amazing once again! And finally I get my Cleo and Magnus to be together! (Which I hope continues into the last two books!)

The Bad: I hate Lucia even more now, and honestly I don’t really care what happens with her. Her POV was just Blegh to me, and I was tempted to skip them sometimes. Still holding out for a possible redemptions though! Nic is also starting to get on my nerves a bit with his anti-Magnus ness, but I get that from him.

The Characters: Almost everyone got better in this book! I disliked Felix and Amara at the end of book 3 (which I guess I was supposed to) but their POVs made me understand them more! I’m also liking Jonas a bit more, since I never really liked his character all that much.
The Plot: This was definitely my favorite part of the book. The betrayals, the “not dead” dead characters, and a revealing of how magic is going to play into the plot with the kindred! Overall, I loved it, and it introduced so many new things for the series to continue on without making the book seem like a filler!

The World Building: This continues to be impeccable in this series, and as we are continuing to learn more about the world, magic, and kingdoms, I’m enjoying it more and more! I was actually glad to get to see Limeros and The Jewel, as the differing concepts of them compared to Auranos was actually really cool to see!

The Stereotypical Tropes: Cliff Hanger!!

The Favorite Character: Cleo, Magnus, and Felix! (Sorry, I know that’s not just one!)

Buy it, Borrow it, or Bin it: Buy it!

Leave a Reply

