The Other Side of Gravity by Shelly Crane

“My name is Maxton and I’m a trader.

I live on a soulless planet where gravity, oxygen, and everything else are sold to the highest bidder on the black market. People are sold on the black market, too. You have to work really hard not to become one of those people. Pay your taxes, keep your friends and family close, and more than anything else—don’t get caught by the Militia. But all the rules changed for me the day I found her.

My name is Sophelia and I’m a stowaway.

I’ve been a slave for almost as long as I can remember. Waiting for the one day, one second, for my proprietor to turn his head so I could run and never look back. Now I’m on the run. And on a planet where no one is on your side and people would turn you in for a good meal or a piece of a silver, being on the run on Landu is the last place you want to be. Until he found me.

I won’t survive without him.

I can’t breathe without her.”

-Synopsis taken from Goodreads

Hey guys! I’m back with another book! This one was actually one of Allison’s lowest ratest books ever, and I wanted to read it (despite the warnings) to see it for myself! My review is below (and caution, it’s not much more positive!)

“Sometimes I just needed to talk about it, even though it singed like touching the end of a match. I just needed to feel that pain for a moment, to know that it was real. It was my pain. I had earned it by living through it.”

Stars (Out of 10): 3 out of 10

Overall Thoughts: I’m still not sure how I feel about this book. It was everything I expected (from reading Allison’s review), yet somewhat better. The characters were all over the place, and all the sentimental moments seemed way too common and planned, as if the author purposely made Sophelia cry every other paragraph just so Maxton can rush in and save her. However, the plot was not as bad as I expected, just a tad rushed near the end, and way too many “twists” at once. While I did not hate this book, I did not necessarily enjoy the time spent reading it.

SPOILERS BEGIN HERE

The Good: I liked the twins, and the relief they brought from sentimental moments. I was also interested in the world itself actually, and how the economy and government was so different. Besides that, I didn’t like much.

The Bad: The characters. The sentimental moments.The constant misunderstandings that happened wayyyy too often.

The Characters: Maxton and Sophelia are the definition of an angsty, unrealistic, insta-love. Sophelia is portrayed as this super strong character, and while in some moments she can be, she’s often not, and cries multiple times a chapter. Now, she was a slave, I understand her having lingering problems from that, but those crying sessions aren’t always that. Often times it’s because of her taking something Maxton said super wrong. Like you could never draw the conclusion she did wrong. And after a while, I got so sick of the apologizing and “speeches” Maxton had to do and say after each of her breakdowns, that I started to skim read them, as it was just the same thing every time.

The Plot: This was okay. If you take it in the context of a single book (which I originally thought it was), the beginning of the book had no bigger plot than them running away. However, we see it unfold when the twins come in (although very suddenly), and it seems to be fairly interesting. Until it turns into just running again, except to somewhere instead of away. The ending was also very abrupt, and we saw abnormally tiny chapters for the book try to wrap up the ending, as well as introduce some very key twists. However, the doll rarely gets actually used, despite being “important.” There were also a lot of things built up that were simply never used.

The World Building: While it wasn’t the best I’ve seen from fantasy/sci-fi novels, it was okay. It was better than the characters and plot at least, but not enough to truly enjoy the book.

The Favorite Character: I mean I kinda liked the twins, so I guess them?

Buy it, Borrow it, or Bin it: Bin it, unless you want to read a romance novel dressed up as sci-fi.

Leave a Reply

