I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson

A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell

Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah’s story to tell. The later years are Jude’s. What the twins don’t realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

This radiant novel from the acclaimed, award-winning author ofThe Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once.”

-Synopsis taken from Goodreads

Meaghan here again! I recently acquired this really pretty book, and mainly bought it for the cover. I didn’t like it as much as everyone else seems to, but it was still an okay read.

“I gave up practically the whole world for you,” I tell him, walking through the front door of my own love story. “The sun, stars, ocean, trees, everything, I gave it all up for you.”

Stars (Out of 10): 5.5/10

Overall Thoughts: This book was far from the emotional experience that had been sold to me, and had expected. To be completely honest, I absolutely hated the beginning. Not only did I feel just thrown into the middle of a story, I also didn’t care for the characters. However, the ending did make up for this a bit, which is why this book is still sitting at a 5.5 instead of a 1 or a 2.

SPOILERS BEGIN HERE

The Good: I did enjoy the ending, with all the reveals and connections between the past and present made. I also liked how almost every character had a “redemption” in the end, and made me end the book kind of liking everyone. That doesn’t how I felt throughout the book though.

The Bad: I really, really did not like the idea of the story, and the characters that made it up. It felt like Noah’s main conflict was almost fighting for his parent’s attention with Jude, and both became so malicious towards each other because of it. While neither of the two’s actions were right in any way, Noah initiated it by allowing his sister to be completely forgotten by their mom, and ruining all of her chances at gaining her mother’s love and attention.

The Characters: Almost every character we met seemed like a bad person for one reason or another, only for them to get redeemed in the end.The only person, in my mind, that never truly got redeemed was the mother. Sure she had an affair for love, but she split her family up to do so. She also allowed for her love to become a prize in a competition. However I did like the before and after effect we got to see in the two different point of views.

The Plot: I liked Jude’s story a lot more than Noah’s, seeing the after of the mom’s death and all the change it brought. I liked Noah’s story way less, as it brought out the worst in every person, but in an unrealistic way. I get Noah’s wish for attention, but if the twins were as close as originally said, Noah wouldn’t be doing every little thing to wreck his sister’s chance at their mother’s love as well.

The Favorite Character: I ended up liking Oscar, and the growth we saw in him

Buy it, Borrow it, or Bin it: Borrow it

Leave a Reply

