The Last Star by Rick Yancey

The enemy is Other. The enemy is us.

They’re down here, they’re up there, they’re nowhere. They want the Earth, they want us to have it. They came to wipe us out, they came to save us.

But beneath these riddles lies one truth: Cassie has been betrayed. So has Ringer. Zombie. Nugget. And all 7.5 billion people who used to live on our planet. Betrayed first by the Others, and now by ourselves.

In these last days, Earth’s remaining survivors will need to decide what’s more important: saving themselves…or saving what makes us human.”

-Synopsis taken from Goodreads

Hey guys! Meaghan here again with another review! I finished up the 5th Wave series over the weekend with the finale, The Last Star!

“I am all the ones you emptied, the ones you corrupted, the ones you discarded, the thousands you thought you killed, but who live in me.

But I am more than this. I am all those they remember, the ones they loved, everyone they knew, and everyone they only heard about. How many are contained in me? Count the stars. Go on, number the grains of sand. That’s me.

I am humanity.”

Stars (Out of 10): 8/10 Stars

Overall Thoughts: I enjoyed this finale a lot more than the second book, and thought that it was a nice ending to the series. It cleared the plot up from the confusing second book, and gave the series an ending purpose that I originally felt was missing. While we didn’t necessarily see anything new from the characters, there were tons of twists in the plot that kept the book interesting. We also saw a lot of the mental aspect of what the end of the world does to people, and the mindset everyone had going into the end. Overall, I liked it a lot more than I expected, and it was a great end to the series.

SPOILERS BEGIN HERE

The Good: I really liked the plot of this last book, and how everything seemed to tie together again. We also learned tons of new information about the Others, confirming some of the theories I read, and that they were never even on Earth or near it in the first place. It added a whole new dimension to the story, and made the plight of humanity so much smaller in importance to the “Others”, since they weren’t even truly there to see the end of it.

The Bad: The beginning read a bit confusing until the book found its plot and pace again, which made it tough to read at first. I’m also still super confused as to what Cassie and Evan’s relationship ever even was, since it got mentioned less and less throughout the series, yet still had an important role in the plot. They seemed pretty on and off, and that left me pretty confused as to whether they really loved each other, when it didn’t seem like it at all.

The Characters: My opinions on the characters didn’t really change in this book, except liking Ringer a bit less, but I did like the strength they continued to show in this book. I also liked the fact that Cassie sacrificed herself to save the rest of the world, as it ties back into her calling herself “humanity” and the “last human”, and that she was able to put in the killing blow against what was destroying humanity.

The Plot: I loved the twists in this book, and the answers we finally received for all the questions the first two books gave us. From the Others not even being there, to the Silencers, and Evan, still being human. The epilogue also gave everyone closure, even Evan after Cassie’s sacrifice, and I didn’t really have any remaining questions at the end (except maybe how everything is going to continue on now that the Other’s mothership is gone), which can be a great trait in finale books.

The Favorite Character: Actually became a toss-up in this book
Buy it, Borrow it, or Bin it: Buy it

Leave a Reply

