Ignite Me by Taherah Mafi

The heart-stopping conclusion to the New York Times bestselling Shatter Me series, which Ransom Riggs, bestselling author of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, called “a thrilling, high-stakes saga of self-discovery and forbidden love.”

With Omega Point destroyed, Juliette doesn’t know if the rebels, her friends, or even Adam are alive. But that won’t keep her from trying to take down The Reestablishment once and for all. Now she must rely on Warner, the handsome commander of Sector 45. The one person she never thought she could trust. The same person who saved her life. He promises to help Juliette master her powers and save their dying world . . . but that’s not all he wants with her.

The Shatter Me series is perfect for fans who crave action-packed young adult novels with tantalizing romance like Divergent by Veronica Roth, The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, and Legend by Marie Lu. Tahereh Mafi has created a captivating and original story that combines the best of dystopian and paranormal, and was praised by Publishers Weekly as “a gripping read from an author who’s not afraid to take risks.” Now this final book brings the series to a shocking and satisfying end.”

-Synopsis taken from Goodreads

Hey guys! I decided to re-read this book a few days ago, and relive the magic it gave me while reading it the first time!

“Don’t do that,” he says. “Don’t ask me questions you already know the answers to. Twice I’ve laid myself bare to you and all it’s gotten me was a bullet wound and a broken heart. Don’t torture me,” he says, meeting my eyes again.

“It’s a cruel thing to do, even to someone like me.”

Stars (Out of 10): 10/10 Stars

Overall Thoughts: I forgot the reasons why this has been one of my favorite books for so long, and reading it again only solidified that, rather than lowering my opinion of it. The way Mafi writes is so unique, and so emotional, that it completely draws us in and puts us in tune with the characters emotions. Her characters are also magnificent and so diverse, from the comedic relief but still deep Kenji, to a broken but strong Juliette, and to the morally ambiguous Aaron, who has learned how to deal with his hardships in the only way he can. This book will never bore me, no matter how many times I read it or how well I know what will happen next, and will continue to stay on my list of favorites for years to come. Overall a great finale to one of my favorite series.

SPOILERS BEGIN HERE

The Good: One of my favorite things about Mafi’s books is her writing style. It’s always been very unique, and seems to show an entirely different level of emotion in her characters. I also loved the characters in this book, and how we see how the aftermath of their loss in unravel me affect them.

The Bad: Still hoped for an epilogue or a plan for an after, as ending wise it was a tad abrupt. However, I understand that in order to lengthen the ending and provide more closure, a whole new plot would’ve had to be introduced, so in a way, this was a good ending as well.

The Characters: I still can’t get over the growth and redemption we see for Aaron, as his actions are explained, and we actually get to understand his character. This book is what sealed the deal for him as one of my favorite characters, since we start to see his vulnerabilities and flaws. I’m also glad they semi resolved Juliette x Adam, and the whole brother plot. I also love that a bit more depth was added to Kenji, with him still remaining the comic relief all the same.

The Plot: While reading it 4-5 times sort of kills the surprise from the plot, I still really enjoy it. I love the flip we see in Aaron, and the inside view we then have, and the characters have, to launch their rebellion from. I also loved the fact that Juliette was able to harness her killing touch as well, and makes her fully free.

The World Building: While most of the world building is done in the first two books, we still continue to learn little bits and pieces of how things work, and how the powers in this world works. However, this was definitely not the point of this book.

The Favorite Character: Aaron (obviously, since he’s one of my favorite characters ever in general)
Buy it, Borrow it, or Bin it: Buy it!!

Leave a Reply

