Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

This is a world divided by blood – red or silver.

The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.

That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power.

Fearful of Mare’s potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime.

But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance – Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart.”

-Synopsis taken from Goodreads

Hey guys! Meaghan here again with another review! I absolutely loved this book, and am glad I followed the hype! Definitely recommend!

“The gods rule us still. They have come down from the stars. And they are no longer kind.”

Stars (Out of 10): 10/10 Stars

Overall Thoughts: I ABSOLUTELY LOVED THIS BOOK!! It was everything I needed at the moment. Some good high fantasy always gets me out of my small reading ruts! I fell in love with the characters almost right away, with Mare even in the first chapter! The plot also kept me incredibly hooked, and I found the pages almost flipped themselves with how entranced I was by this book. The world building was also phenomenal as it explained the facets of this strange, new society, and explained both the Red culture and Silver culture. Such a great read, that I definitely do recommend to readers of high fantasy!

SPOILERS BEGIN HERE

The Good: I loved the characters, the plot, the world, the interactions, the narration style, the everything! I explain a bit more in the separate categories, but I did seem to find every facet of this book extremely intriguing!

The Bad: Nothing comes to mind for this category actually, which is why this book sits at 10 stars!

The Characters: I loved the diversity we saw here, since we got to explore both societies, and their interactions within them, and between them. We also saw both peasants and the courts, and how those interacted differently as well. We seemed to get a double view of everything as well, such as Silvers from the Red Villages, and Silvers in their own courts. I also loved the characters themselves, from Cal to Mare, and the trick artist himself Maven. I also loved seeing the varying powers of everyone, and how that seemed to affect their personalities as well.

The Plot: I loved what this author did with the idea she had, and how it all played out. I was definitely expecting failure at the end, but not the kind of failure and trickery that actually ended up occurring. And Shade being alive! It definitely kept me intrigued, and I lost myself (and time) in reading this book, which hasn’t been happening as frequently lately!

The World Building: I loved what Aveyard did with the world in this book. We get introduced to so many aspects of it in this book, from seeing the hard working Reds and the arena battles they must visit, to the court life of the Silvers, and how cunning you must be to survive it. We also see a peak at the people even lower than the standard Reds, and I’m definitely intrigued in the part that will play later!

The Favorite Character: Mare! (although she can sometimes be a bit stubborn and quick to fight)
Buy it, Borrow it, or Bin it: Buy it!

Leave a Reply

