Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

“Moving to a space station at the edge of the galaxy was always going to be the death of Hanna’s social life. Nobody said it might actually get her killed.

The saga that began with Illuminae continues on board the space station Heimdall, where two new characters will confront the next wave of BeiTech’s assault. Hanna is the station captain’s pampered daughter, Nik the reluctant member of a notorious crime family. But while the pair are struggling with the realities of life aboard the galaxy’s most boring space station, little do they know that Kady Grant and the Hypatia are headed right toward Heimdall, carrying news of the Kerenza invasion.

When an elite BeiTech team invades the station, Hanna and Nik are thrown together to defend their home. But alien predators are picking off the station residents one by one, and a malfunction in the station’s wormhole means the space-time continuum may be ripped in two before dinner. Soon Hanna and Nik aren’t just fighting for their own survival. The fate of everyone on the Hypatia—and possibly the known universe—is in their hands.

But relax. They’ve totally got this. They hope.”

-Synopsis taken from Goodreads

“It’s not about what I say right? It’s what I do that matters here.”

Stars (Out of 10): “A whole sky of different stars”/10

Overall Thoughts: I actually needed to give myself a day to fully process this book before writing this review, and yet, I am still just in complete awe of this book. It seemed to meticulously planned, with a plot riveting at every page. The way the book is formatted also seems to bring a whole new layer of immersion in my opinion, and makes the events of the series seem much more real. In addition, the characters were witty, and for a book full of facts and documents, I found a lot of humor in the book, that left me laughing at many points. Overall, no amount of words can describe how much I loved this book, and how fully it completely blew my mind. Super, super excited for book 3!

The Good: The plot was so many layers deep, and every single little detail shared actually has some importance, while it may not always seem that way. In addition, I loved the characters, and they were perfect for the plot in my opinion. I also love how well it connects to book 1, and everyone who survives Illuminae is seen in Gemina, which I was super happy about!

The Bad: Nothing really comes to mind actually, except for some formatting decisions (text speak) or how the audio and ebook files work out. But I didn’t find anything with the story itself that I disliked.

SPOILERS BEGIN HERE

The Characters: While they were a lot different from Kady and Ezra, I still really loved Hanna and Nik. They felt really real, especially since we only see them through transcripts and chat logs. I also loved the continued use of old characters, and how they still remained really important. While I hope it remains to the crew of 4, as it’ll get a bit crowded otherwise, I probably would just fall in love to anyone new next book regardless!

The Plot: This was definitely the best feature of this book. I loved the plot of this book, and how so many things came together, especially at the end. Even with all the information in front of us, the twists were still amazingly hidden, even though there was plenty of hints and foreshadowing if I go back and think about it. From the lanima, to all the attack fleets, to the attack squad, and lastly, to the super crazy wormhole happenings, there were problems happening constantly, providing for constant action. It felt extremely in the moment, and I was always super nervous and anxious about what was going to happen next, kept on my toes at every moment. In addition, I’m still completely blown away by the inclusion of multiple universes, and the science behind the wormholes. That’s still so crazy in my mind, and I’m so intrigued by it, and how it’ll affect the rest of the series!

The Favorite Character: I really liked Hanna later in the book!

Buy it, Borrow it, or Bin it: Buy it!!!

Leave a Reply

