Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

If there’s one thing Mare Barrow knows, it’s that she’s different.

Mare Barrow’s blood is red—the color of common folk—but her Silver ability, the power to control lightning, has turned her into a weapon that the royal court tries to control.

The crown calls her an impossibility, a fake, but as she makes her escape from Maven, the prince—the friend—who betrayed her, Mare uncovers something startling: she is not the only one of her kind.

Pursued by Maven, now a vindictive king, Mare sets out to find and recruit other Red-and-Silver fighters to join in the struggle against her oppressors.

But Mare finds herself on a deadly path, at risk of becoming exactly the kind of monster she is trying to defeat.

Will she shatter under the weight of the lives that are the cost of rebellion? Or have treachery and betrayal hardened her forever?

The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates the struggle between the growing rebel army and the blood-segregated world they’ve always known—and pits Mare against the darkness that has grown in her soul.

-Synopsis taken from Goodreads

Hey guys! Meaghan here again. I’ve just finished the second installment of the fantastic Red Queen series!

“If I am a sword, I am a sword made of glass, and I can feel myself beginning to shatter.”

Stars (Out of 10): 6/10 Stars

Overall Thoughts: While I definitely enjoyed this installment, I liked it far less than the first book. Some of the plot, while overall interesting, seemed a bit dull or boring, and I sometimes found myself reading just to get back to the interesting parts, not because I enjoyed what I was currently reading. However, the ending took me for a spin, and I do where the plot brought us in the end. (I am also extremely extremely glad that I finished this a few days before the finale because I definitely could not handle waiting any longer.)

The Good: I quite enjoyed the plot, especially the ending. In addition, I liked the introduction of many new side characters, and exploring ideas from the first book more. Also, since they are no longer in the Silver Kingdom, we see more of the other side of society.

The Bad: Some parts of the book fell a bit flat, or boring. In addition, actions/thoughts of both Mare and those around her gave Mare the idea of being a very unlikable person, with very little redeeming qualities. She almost reminded me of Katniss, sometimes acting selfish, or at odds with the people around her, and pushing away people for seemingly no reason. This made it a bit less enjoyable, since it seemed many bonds built over years were somewhat broken, and reasons were given by Mare herself to distrust almost everyone, and reasons for them to dislike her.

SPOILERS BEGIN HERE

The Characters: As I said above, while I enjoyed the new side characters, and additions they made to our current ones, I hate what they took away from Mare. She became unlikable, isolated, and sometimes cruel, and while I understand how her character got there, and the reality of the situation, it made the book, at points, less interesting to read. Instead of a strong group banded together, it usually seemed more of a group of people who would rather be far away from each other, feeling forced to work together. I also felt it sometimes took away from the interesting plot going on, as division and relationship issues battled for the forefront of reader’s attention. However, I do quite enjoy the direction Mare is now taking, and the growth seen in the last few chapters as Mare attempts to fix her isolation (up until she gets kinda sorta captured by Maven, and kinda sorta is scheduled for execution.)

The Plot: I actually really enjoyed where the plot went in this novel. I do like that the rebel groups were unwilling to trust a silver and someone with the powers of one, because it felt truly realistic. I also liked how this forced them to go on their own, as if the rebels could be easily swayed by a few silver words, it would undermine the strength of both the leader and the organization. However, I truly enjoyed the final parts of the book, from the heist to Mare taking more of a leadership role and coming up with her own plan. And lastly, I’m sure that cliffhanger will continue to haunt me until I get my hands on King’s Cage! (Which will, if Amazon doesn’t fall me, be tomorrow, the 7th!)

The World Building: I actually really enjoyed how the author switched perspectives to give a better view of the world. Instead of kings and queens, we saw the poor and the rebels. Instead of sparkling clean, cities, we saw the slums, the reason these people are fighting. It both strengthens the rebel’s cause, and allows us to see the true secrets of the world this novel takes place in.

The Favorite Character: The poor heartbroken Cal (although, by the end, anyone can fit that title ): )
Buy it, Borrow it, or Bin it: Borrow it

Leave a Reply

