The Rose & The Dagger by Renee Ahdieh

The darker the sky, the brighter the stars.

In a land on the brink of war, Shahrzad is forced from the arms of her beloved husband, the Caliph of Khorasan. She once thought Khalid a monster—a merciless killer of wives, responsible for immeasurable heartache and pain—but as she unraveled his secrets, she found instead an extraordinary man and a love she could not deny. Still, a curse threatens to keep Shazi and Khalid apart forever.

Now she’s reunited with her family, who have found refuge in the desert, where a deadly force is gathering against Khalid—a force set on destroying his empire and commanded by Shazi’s spurned childhood sweetheart. Trapped between loyalties to those she loves, the only thing Shazi can do is act. Using the burgeoning magic within her as a guide, she strikes out on her own to end both this terrible curse and the brewing war once and for all. But to do it, she must evade enemies of her own to stay alive.

The saga that began with The Wrath and the Dawn takes its final turn as Shahrzad risks everything to find her way back to her one true love again.”

-Synopsis taken from Goodreads

Hey guys! It’s Meaghan again! I’ve been on a reading train lately, which explains my wave of posts and reviews! I finished up The Wrath and the Dawn series over the weekend, and it was absolutely fantastic!

“It was because they were two parts of a whole. He did not belong to her. And she did not belong to him. It was never about belonging to someone. It was about belonging together.”

Stars (Out of 10): 10/10 Stars

Overall Thoughts: This is currently my favorite series/books of 2017, and in my top 5 series of all times list for sure. I didn’t not expect to feel this strongly for these characters so quickly, and to be absolutely entwined in both the world and the plot so quickly each time I picked up the book. I could honestly never put it down, and even a few days after finishing, I’m still amazed by how thoroughly this installment made me feel. It managed to wreck my heart, and fix it moments later, which is not something many books can claim.

The Good: Badass characters (from a broken king to a powerful queen, and almost all characters had their shining moments!), a good wrap up for all characters with few, if any, loose ends, and a fantastic plot all the way through.

The Bad: I honestly cannot think of anything to put in this category at the moment.

SPOILERS BEGIN HERE

The Characters: I didn’t think I could like this group anymore than I already did. We saw Tariq somewhat redeem himself, and Shazi to prove herself as strong as capable, but still human (losing a fight with Spider, etc.). In addition, all characters got an ending that they deserve, with the punishments they deserved. This made the ending so freaking satisfying, as we saw this villains that took advantage of teenagers meet their ends at the hands of them.

The Plot: While I have to admit some parts of the magic plot seemed a bit thrown together, the rest of plot more than made up for it. It showcased the strength of the characters while keeping them human, and added twists and betrayals into the mix as well. I also enjoyed the small war that did took place, started by the enemy but finished by them. Oh, and while I don’t often enjoy having my heart wrenched from my chest when thinking everything will be okay, I mind a bit less when they put it back and cover it with some duct tape. That final scene made me audibly gasp, and if Renee Ahdieh hadn’t fixed it all with a bit of magic shortly after, I doubt I could have ever forgiven her for so thoroughly breaking my heart.

The World Building: While the world building wasn’t too elaborated upon from the first book, we did learn more about the magical side of things. However, many questions still remain in that area, since magic seemed both important, yet not.

The Favorite Character: Khalid & Shazi

Buy it, Borrow it, or Bin it: Buy it (seriously, you’ll thank me later.)

 

Leave a Reply

