King’s Cage by Victoria Aveyard

“In this breathless third installment to Victoria Aveyard’s bestselling Red Queen series, allegiances are tested on every side. And when the Lightning Girl’s spark is gone, who will light the way for the rebellion?

Mare Barrow is a prisoner, powerless without her lightning, tormented by her lethal mistakes. She lives at the mercy of a boy she once loved, a boy made of lies and betrayal. Now a king, Maven Calore continues weaving his dead mother’s web in an attempt to maintain control over his country—and his prisoner.

As Mare bears the weight of Silent Stone in the palace, her once-ragtag band of newbloods and Reds continue organizing, training, and expanding. They prepare for war, no longer able to linger in the shadows. And Cal, the exiled prince with his own claim on Mare’s heart, will stop at nothing to bring her back.

When blood turns on blood, and ability on ability, there may be no one left to put out the fire—leaving Norta as Mare knows it to burn all the way down.”

-Synopsis taken from Goodreads

Hey guys! Meaghan here again! I finally finished King’s Cage, and while I loved it, I did not realize that this was not the last book in the series somehow?? Was totally expecting a finale, and I got the opposite when it came to the ending.

“Those who know what it’s like in the dark will do anything to stay in the light.”

Stars (Out of 10): 9/10 Stars

Overall Thoughts: Okay so somehow I never got the memo that this was no longer a trilogy. I have no idea how I missed that very important piece of information, but it did end up ruining my perception of the ending (after all, who likes a cliff hanger in the final book?) However, I did really enjoy this installment, and while I still enjoyed the first book the most, King’s Cage reminded me why I started loving the series in the first place (I was disappointed by most of Glass Sword if I’m being honest.)

The Good: I finally like the characters again, and for most of the book, they weren’t that frustrating. I also enjoyed where the story went, especially the developments in the last half of the novel.

The Bad: A ton of build up in the beginning, with little major action which was saved all for the end. Also, a super frustrating ending that continues the frustrating love plot into the 4th book, rather than focusing on the war. I also did not care for Cameron’s POV at all, since it just felt like a ton of whining in my opinion, and just continued to paint the Scarlet Guard even worse.

SPOILERS BEGIN HERE

The Characters: I like the new and improved Mare we saw, and how Maven’s character and overall evilness was given a purpose and a reason. We also got to see some of the side characters become stronger and more okay with their situation, and adding in new Ardents/Newbloods from Montfort from other areas made Mare feel less like a chosen one, since she isn’t that at all.

The Plot: While the first half of the book was just tons of build up, it did lead to some pretty interesting developments later on in the story, especially in the whole warring kingdoms thing being developed further, where allies turned to enemies and enemies turned out allies. However, I was finally happy with where Cal and Mare were with their relationship, and some other wrench was thrown in the plan once again, trying to stretch out the drama-filled romantic plot even more, when I personally feel a unified front + strong relationship would have been amazing to see in the finale of the book.

The Favorite Character: I like the change we saw in Mare, and Cal has been kicked out of this slot with great prejudice after his dismal performance in the last two or three pages of the book, where he suddenly decides to give up on everything Mare, him, and the Guard have worked for. Thanks Cal, for quickly and effectively letting both me and Mare down with only a few paragraphs. (I’m only a teensy bit mad okay.)

Buy it, Borrow it, or Bin it: Buy it

 

Leave a Reply

