Pursued by Gary Urey

“Axel Jack and Daisha Tandala are two thirteen-year-old friends running from a billionaire madman who killed their scientist parents and now wants what the kids have a GeoPort (Geographical Transportation System.) The GeoPort, invented by their parents, has the ability to transport a person to any place on Earth within seconds. Knowing the power they had created, their parents’ dying wish was for the kids to destroy the GeoPort before it lands in the wrong hands. But when the teens are separated by their pursuers, they must make a life or death attempt to find each other and get the GeoPort to a mysterious Indian Temple where the chase becomes more than just a high-tech game of hide-and-seek, but a war for control of everything money, culture, politics, and power.”

-Synopsis from Goodreads

Hey guys! Allison here! I’m back with an ARC.

I received this book as an arc from ALA Midwinter 2017.

“Narnia was an imaginary world of made-up characters and places. The Warp was real. His personal White Witch was the Red Faced Man. The Pursuers were his wolves, Black Dwarves, and Giants all rolled into one.”

Stars (Out of 10): 9.8/10

Overall Thoughts: This book was an easy read! I got through it in one sitting. It had me hooked. It single handedly took my reading slump and slammed it into the ground. I highly recommend this book for people who are having a hard time getting through books right now. The plot is amazing and you just fall in love with the characters.

The Good: Daisha and Axel are just so easily lovable and you can just feel how much they have grown to rely on each other. There were aspects of romance, but it takes a backseat to the rest of the action going on. I also love that it throws you straight into the action. Another fantastic about this book is that you can tell the difference between the points of views, which is really nice. Even without the names, I could tell you whose point of view I’m reading.

The Bad: I would have liked the scene with the parents to be more emotionally charged.

MINOR SPOILERS BEGIN BELOW

The Characters: I am formally adopting Daisha as my child because she is so amazing. She is strong and powerful and I love that nobody questions this. Like, Daisha just kicked some butt again. Dang it. Axel also holds his own. I love that he is allowed to be upset and cry about his situation and he still is seen as this strong person. They are both smart and it’s shown through actions, not just words. Their relationship is probably the most pure I have read in a long time. It has no true definition to it, it just exists, which makes it beautiful. Normally I’m against relationships at such a young age in books, but this book just sidesteps that completely. Furthermore, the Doctor is quite the antagonist. I love that you see his greed taking over. It’s his greed and arrogance that drive his actions and ultimately are his biggest weaknesses.

The Plot: The plot is simple enough. Two kids trying to keep super advanced technology from a greedy dude. However, the ending just blows my mind. How Magnes Solace comes into play was just magical. It all comes together in the end. I also just want to say, that  is how you do a both dead and alive prophecy.

The World Building: The world is our own, just with a few little kicks in it. I love how all the science parts sound possible.

The Favorite Character: Daisha

Buy It, Borrow It, Bin It: Buy It

Leave a Reply

