The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco

The beast raged; it punctured the air with its spite. But the girl was fiercer.

Tea is different from the other witches in her family. Her gift for necromancy makes her a bone witch, who are feared and ostracized in the kingdom. For theirs is a powerful, elemental magic that can reach beyond the boundaries of the living—and of the human.

Great power comes at a price, forcing Tea to leave her homeland to train under the guidance of an older, wiser bone witch. There, Tea puts all of her energy into becoming an asha, learning to control her elemental magic and those beasts who will submit by no other force. And Tea must be strong—stronger than she even believes possible. Because war is brewing in the eight kingdoms, war that will threaten the sovereignty of her homeland…and threaten the very survival of those she loves.”

-Synopsis taken from Goodreads

Hello all! It’s Meaghan here, back with another review! This was another ARC (Advanced Reader’s Copy), which I received through Netgalley!

First off, I would like to thank the publisher and author for providing me this ARC to review. Please note that the version I read was an advanced copy, and certain events/language may be changed in the published edition.

“The only sight I seem to possess nowadays is hindsight.”

Stars (Out of 10): 9/10 Stars

Overall Thoughts: I actually really enjoyed this book! While it was slow in the beginning, and took a lot of time and dedication to finish, I ended up loving it, and everything it sets up for the rest of the series!

The Good: I really liked the italic portions at the ends of the chapters, and the look into Tea’s current situation it gave. I also seemed to like the story in general, and while it wasn’t necessarily action-packed, the build up for the rest of the series, and setting of the world, actually still interested me, which isn’t always the case with slow fantasy books.

The Bad: It was very slow, but I found that the pace still matched the story. I can definitely see a lot of people putting it down at first though.

SPOILERS BEGIN HERE

The Characters: The combination of characters seemed to fit very well with the plot. Both young Tea, and older Tea in the italic portions of the chapters, were quite interesting, and I loved seeing the contrast between them, and how it foreshadowed and hinted at so many terrible things to come during Tea’s life. I also liked the side characters, from Tea’s brother to Tea’s Asha sisters.

The Plot: I have to agree with a lot of others on the fact that it wasn’t very action packed. However, for me, I still ended up enjoying the build up quite a bit, which is rare for me. In addition, I loved the twists we found at the end of the novel, as well as all the foreshadowing we got from older Tea for each chapter, which made me read them in a new light, or with a different expectation than I may have originally read the chapter with.

The World Building: I felt the book did this quite well. Yes there was a lot of descriptions, but it made me feel as if I could actually picture the cities Tea visited, and the people she met and life she would begin to live. I also felt I had somewhat of a grasp on the kingdoms and politics of both the Willows and the Eight Kingdoms, and am super excited to see what all that foreshadowing about destroying them will lead to!

The Favorite Character: Tea

Leave a Reply

