Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

“My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.”

-Synopsis taken from Goodreads

Hey guys! Meaghan here again! I finally got around to reading Everything, Everything, and while I didn’t like it as much as The Sun Is Also A Star, I still loved it! Super excited for the movie on May 19th now!

“In the beginning there was nothing. And then there was everything.”

Stars (Out of 10): 8/10 Stars

Overall Thoughts: I really, really liked this book. Most of that is because of the fantastic twist at the end, since it made the entire book a tad more realistic, and I was having trouble at points with that. I also just love Nicola Yoon’s way of writing, and even though I can’t explain it well, it connects me “emotionally” to the characters more. And while this book wasn’t perfect, and it had it’s fault, I enjoyed every second I spent reading it!

The Good: It was a fast read. I ended up really liking the characters, but my favorite part has to be that ending (mainly because I didn’t expect it at all). I also just like how this author writes, and the humor used in the conversations between Olly and Maddy.

The Bad: It was almost too fast of a read. And while I liked the romance in the book, it felt way too fast. One month, and only like a few “visitations,” and they were in love. Maybe they talked a lot more over IM that we didn’t see, and that’s what is missing. But from what we were given, it was pretty fast.

SPOILERS BEGIN HERE

The Characters: I really liked the cast of characters, especially Olly. In addition, most of the main side characters had their own developed stories (even the friend in Hawaii had a life (you guys know I suck at names, I’m sorry)). It gave the overall story much more depth, and made side characters less “dispensable.” In addition, I’m happy they all showed realistic emotions, but romantic/relationship problems weren’t created out of nothing (like that lab partner incident. Tension, but not an annoying amount.)

The Plot: While it felt super fast in the beginning, and unrealistic at points, the ending made the whole book better. It was not a twist I saw coming at all, and the fact that I’ve heard a ton about this book without being spoiled is surprising. The whole time she wasn’t sick? Her mom is the messed up/sick one? It came out of nowhere, and saved the book in my opinion. (Okay the situation is super messed up, but it helped explain the extreme mother/daughter “bond,” and crazy amount of time spent together.)
The Favorite Character: Olly

Leave a Reply

