Write This Book by Pseudonymous Bosch

I feared this may happen. I knew reading was a dangerous business, but now it’s not safe for writers either! You see, the author of this book is missing. Well, maybe not “missing.” A certain author whom I won’t name (okay, me) has abandoned his book and has left his readers hanging out to dry. This is a crime, I admit, but there it is. Most of this book, well, I just haven’t written it. And I’m not going to, either.
Why? Oh, I have my reasons. Big. Grown up. Author. Reasons. Unfortunately, I can’t reveal them yet. Let’s just say a life is at stake (mine) and leave it at that. So will you do it? Pretty please? You’ll do it? Thank you! But please hurry! Time is of the essence and you can’t wait any longer. You must WRITE THIS BOOK!


This imaginative companion to the New York Times bestselling Secret Series teases, prompts, and leads readers through the steps of writing a story. Bosch’s signature rip-roaring voice delivers an engaging narrative (for the reader to help complete!) and interactive puzzles and games. Readers get the chance to create their own story while enjoying a satisfying mystery as well.”

-Synopsis taken from Goodreads

Hey guys! Meaghan here with another review! Once again, this book was by one of my favorite authors when I was younger, Pseudonymous Bosch!

“The good thing about writing fiction is that you get to make everything up. The bad thing is that you have to.”

Stars (Out of 10): 8/10 Stars

Overall Thoughts: I really enjoyed this quick little break from my ordinary, more intense reading. Pseudonymous Bosch was one of childhood authors, and I always loved the footnotes and writing style in general of his, and this book was no exception. If anything, this book had even more footnotes, and even more of his personality seeping into it. I loved the book just for that, and not even considering the potentially invaluable information the book can hold for younger readers. Since this is not an ‘ordinary’ book, this will also not be an ordinary review.

The Good: Has some pretty good information, and is also extremely funny and engaging for readers! Even though I already was taught the same things in my high school English classes, I still enjoyed it, and see it’s worth for younger readers wanting an interesting way to learn about the writing process, or test out their skills using the “assignments” within the book!

The Bad: It is not a “real” book. It has a semblance of a story, but that is not the main point of this book at all. Most of it’s qualities rest in teaching people to write better, or give an insight into how Pseudonymous Bosch writes.

What this book can teach: This book covers most of the basics of writing, from POV (superbly explained by calling 3rd POV an observation, “he broke the glass,” 2nd POV an accusation, “you broke the glass,” and 1st POV a confession, “I broke the glass.”), to genre, using direct examples of Gothic, Fantasy, and Classic Crime in combination with Mystery to show the difference a genre can make on a book. It also speaks of the technical aspects of a book, from title to epigraph to copyright page (and of course, the importance of pseudonyms). However, even if you know all that, the little assignments can be pretty cool writing practice, and the book is even just interesting because of Bosch’s humor. A combination of funny footnotes, interruptions from Quiche the bunny, and “procrastination pages” that are way too true about writers, had me hooked the entire time, even if the information was all just repeat.

Leave a Reply

