Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer

“Twelve-year-old Artemis Fowl is a millionaire, a genius—and, above all, a criminal mastermind. But even Artemis doesn’t know what he’s taken on when he kidnaps a fairy, Captain Holly Short of the LEPrecon Unit. These aren’t the fairies of bedtime stories—they’re dangerous! Full of unexpected twists and turns, Artemis Fowl is a riveting, magical adventure.”

-Synopsis taken from Goodreads

Hey guys! Meaghan here again! This time I finally read a book I never got to in my elementary years, Artemis Fowl!

“Confidence is ignorance. If you’re feeling cocky, it’s because there’s something you don’t know.”

Stars (Out of 10): 6/10 Stars

Overall Thoughts: While I’m not the biggest fan of this book, it was still pretty good. I enjoyed reading it, but it by far was not one of my favorite books/children books. I have the next few books in the series though, so I might end up continuing it just because the books are easily accessible. But overall, I just was kinda bored by it.

The Good: Decent plot, and I liked how there wasn’t really a good or bad side, and you could’ve honestly supported either side and been happy with the outcome. I also liked the humor in this novel, and overall it wasn’t as “childish” as I thought it would be!

The Bad: Didn’t actually connect with any of the characters, and while yes I could support either side, I ended up not liking either. Also, nothing of the plot was really “surprising,” and I’m not usually the biggest fan of the main character being overly powerful/smart in a way that almost doesn’t make sense.

SPOILERS BEGIN HERE

The Characters: I didn’t end up caring for any of the characters, honestly. Artemis, while kinda cool, just felt kinda shallow and inhuman, but I do see the author trying to create a path of development (showing Artemis joke more), so I’m curious to see where that goes. The fae, on the other hand, weren’t focused on in a way that would make me like separate characters, but I did end up liking Holly, even if some decisions or facts weren’t fully explained, like why she never bothered to refill her magic if she was so ambitious to grow in her career.

The Plot: This part was fairly interesting, and was mainly the reason I kept reading, I wanted to know how it all ended! I actually was quite happy how it ended in a way to keep both sides happy (but still wanting to take more from the other), and I love how Artemis was made a bit more human by using his wish to save his mother, which will definitely be an interesting dynamic (her influence) to see played out in the rest of the series!

The World Building: The fae were depicted in a curious way, as an underground race of people with magic. It was definitely different, and made the story very unique in it’s own right, but I do feel it could’ve been developed a bit better. But I can hope for that for the rest of the series!

The Favorite Character: Holly Short

Leave a Reply

